LITTLE ANN - Detroit's Secret Soul - LP

Ace RecordsSKU: LP-11-KEN518


Tax included. Click here for delivery time outside DE / Lieferzeit in DE ca. 2-3 Werktage. Shipping calculated at checkout

Only 1 unit left


In the last two decades, Little Ann’s music has gone from being almost unheard to celebrated widely across the world. Initially known only as a footnote for having one side of one Ric-Tic single in 1968, the discovery and playing of her acetate of ‘What Should I Do’ at Wigan Casino in the late 70s meant her name become important to rare soul fans (when it was revealed that Little Ann was the real singer of the song erroneously attributed to Rose Valentine at the time).
Once Ace Records acquired Dave Hamilton’s Detroit studio tapes, through the auspices of researcher Richard Gilbert, more previously unheard gems came to light and eventually there were found to be nine songs recorded in 1967 and 1968 with Dave and his partner Darrell Goolsby. The dancers ‘Who Are You Trying To Fool’, ‘Sweep It Out In The Shed’ and ‘Lean Lanky Daddy’, proved to be perfect additions for the Northern Soul dance scene, while ‘I Gotta Have You’ and ‘Possession’ wowed the funk crowd, and the beauty of ‘Deep Shadows’ got through to every type of soul fan.


A1 What Should I Do (Alt Take) 2:06
A2 Lean Lanky Daddy 2:05
A3 Sweep It Out In The Shed 3:00
A4 Who Are You Trying To Fool (Alt Take) 2:22
A5 I Got To Have You (Alt Take) 2:22
A6 The Smile On Your Face 3:02
A7 Deep Shadows 2:33

B1 One Way Street (Alt Version) 2:26
B2 Possession 3:09
B3 Stand Together 2:59
B4 I'm Doin' All Right 2:23
B5 Lost A Lover (Need A Friend) 3:35
B6 That's All I Want From You 3:27

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Bancontact EPS Google Pay iDEAL Klarna Maestro Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay SOFORT Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

You may also like

Recently viewed